HARD


She’s hard in her own way
But not to hear her say.
Been around the block a time er two
Been there and done that a few.

 

Life’s lines etched into a face hard as granite
I think she said her name was Janet.
I bought her a beer for a closer look
At this female enigmatic book.

 

Jet black shoulder length hair
The truth her smile would not bear.
Her confidence a product of too much ridicule
Faith in her abilities waxes miniscule.

 

Sadness tugs at the corners of her pretty eyes
She speaks in short sentences ending in sighs.
Tosses her head as looks at me with a pirates smile
Her dark eyes flashing with promises and guile.

 

She’s well preserved despite all the miles
Bears wear and tear from the paintbrush of life’s trials.
She’s wondering what I want
She’s wondering what she can flaunt.

 

So accustomed to self-marketing
Her constant efforts admonishing.
Desperately wanting to be accepted
Having her feelings instead intercepted.

 

By the missiles of deceit
By those who lie and cheat.
By those who would run her down.
By those who would let her drown.

 

In a sea of loneliness and tears.
Has her own set of demons and fears.
She hides behind a shaky smile
She finds few things in life worthwhile.

  

An easy woman to be with your bet
What you see is what you get.
Still some innocence left in those eyes
Not easily seen unless you try.

 

 I can make her laugh and smile
This hard woman I entertain for a while.
I don’t have to choose my words with her
Which makes our conversation less than confer.

 

Her hands bear the scars of hard work.
Short fingernails, hands that are never mistook.
Still bears the refinement of femininity
This hardness bears sexual infinity.

 

I think she’d clean up really well.
This rode hard and put away wet belle.
Still holds onto a ray of hope and faith
From me to you gentle reader, this wraith.

 

I cannot keep my eyes off her roughhewn landscape
Bullet-proof in her own way and shape.
Attractive in a no-nonsense way
Questioning eyes that want to play.

 

Why some people in life get hammered so nice
From some cosmic roll of the dice.
Others born with silver spoons in their mouths.
Who never suffer a day in their miserable lives.

 

Not so with this lady across from me.
Still I’m starting to like what I see.
She’s reading this from me.
Smiling her fears beginning to flee.

 

Warmth tugging at the corners of her mouth
My self-preservation has gone south.
I’m surrendering to this enchantress beyond wear and tear.
Beneath her embattlements a visage quite fair.

 

The band is playing a nice slow song
Inviting  me to dance and worries that she said it wrong.
Her breathing on my neck as I hold her.
Steering her around the dance floor, she purrs.

She has this slinking, animal like motion
A rolling asynchronous ocean.
She’s intoxicating this female battle ship.
Long of torso and muscular hips.

 

I find her imperfections a welcome sight
Tired of the perfect face, and heart of slight
She’s been a long time coming.
She’s music becoming.

 

She’s music to my ears.
She’s the sum of all fears.
To some that hold perfection dear.
To those that view her queer.

 

She smells like truth
She’s the candy for my sweet tooth.
She tastes like sweet vermouth
What I saw is what I got.

 

And now I see her just about every day
There is no price on my heart to pay.
She says she loves me for who I am
Because I’m not the flim flam man.

 

So I think I’ll stick with this lady.
Who to some may look shady.
I no longer see her rough edges.
To her heart I give my pledges.

 

I trust her with my heart.
I felt this from the start.
This hard woman hewn of granite
This is milady Janet.

 

Dave Proffitt
3/25/2013
1:25 am